• Home
  • Products
  • Services & Solutions
  • Support
  • Downloads
  • About Ricoh

School simplifies document processing to improve management efficiency ready for new academic structure and curriculum

The introduction of the "334" New Academic Structure and Curriculum will see the progressive implementation of school-based assessments, and the need to archive student academic records, examination scripts and relevant assignments will undoubtedly increase the workload of teaching staff. SKH Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School takes advantage of advanced office equipment and document management solutions to simplify what used to be complicated administrative work and boost administrative efficiency for teachers and the school.

Effective management of student records

As a result of the school-based assessment component in the new academic structure and curriculum, it has become critical for secondary schools to effectively manage student records in order to facilitate total educational development. Yet given the huge amount of student information that needs to be archived, it is a challenge to manage resources effectively? According to Mr Mak Cheuk-sang, Vice-Principle of SKH Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School, it used to be an arduous task storing every exam paper as well as student academic results and assignments in systematic, digital format.

'In the past, it took a lot of time and manpower to sort and store the huge amount of student information. And it wasn't always easy to pull out certain information from the archive,' says Mr Mak. With the help of document management solutions by Ricoh's multi-function copiers, every student is assigned a bar code - their academic results and assignments can then be stored in their personal profile. The teaching staff can quickly and conveniently access the information at a later date, giving them a comprehensive picture of the student’s performance and progress.

Meanwhile, the school used to store information in hard copies, which took up a significant amount of space. Switching to electronic storage not only offers exceptional convenience but also frees up space for other use.

Text Recognizer facilitates easy preparation of teaching materials

Document conversion software "Text Recognizer" has significantly eased teachers' workload in preparing teaching materials. According to Mr Mak, 'teachers of Chinese, English and Liberal Studies can have the multi-function copier scan newspaper contents, which are then converted to editable electronic file formats (e.g. Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel or Adobe PDF). The conversion retains the design and layout of the source document and this has helped teachers immensely in terms of teaching material preparation.' Text Recognizer software supports Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese and English fonts, and the system automatically converts scans into editable computer files.

Multi-function copiers save manpower and boost efficiency

Technological advancement has helped drive the development of office equipment: from black and white to color output, followed by the emergence of multi-function machines. These improvements help schools and teachers increase efficiency. A few years ago the school started using high-speed multi-function copiers for network printing, and document management efficiency has since been improved by almost 100%.

'We used to spend two days printing student academic reports, but we can now finish the task in one day. In terms of printing and copying costs, we have achieved savings of at least 70% on B/W and colour copying costs,' Mr Mak goes on to say that the relatively high costs for colour copying in the past had somehow limited the use of color copies, but now colour copying has become much more affordable, and teachers and students can even print A3 posters and certificates.

At the same time, the Ricoh copier in the school library which supports payment by Octopus Card, provides copying service to students at cost.

Replacing the mimeograph machine with multi-function copiers brings added convenience

Apart from multi-function copiers, the school is equipped with two Ricoh high speed multi-function copier. Mr Cheng Woon-tak, who teaches Information and Computer Technology at the school, explains that printing examination scripts with the mimeograph machine is a fairly complicated process and requires much manpower. 'The high speed multi-function copiers we have now are equipped with sorting and binding functions, which are extremely helpful for teachers who frequently prepare teaching notes.' For example, two pages of A4 content can be copied on one piece of A3 paper, and if we use two-sided copying, four pages of content can be copied all at once. Our staff no longer has to spend time binding the documents and this also minimizes the risk of human error.'

User-oriented service

Currently the school has six multi-function copiers, placed in the general office, teachers' room and school library respectively. These have replaced about 20 ink jet and laser jet printers the school used to have, freeing up space and consolidating management. According to Mr Cheng, when the toners are due to be replaced, the multi-function printers will issue a reminder message. The school only has to make one phone call and Ricoh would send qualified technicians to replace the toners in one to two days. There is no need for procurement and stocking of supplies. The same telephone hotline also takes care of other customer needs, such as repair, enquiry or complaint.

'Since most copiers or printers are all-in-one machines, malfunction can mean huge inconvenience and greatly affect our work. Ricoh's "2-hour service pledge" for on-site repair services thoughtfully takes care of user needs.'

At present, Ricoh operates sixe Repair Centers on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and the New Territories. On average, technicians will arrive at the site within 2 hours of repair order and their first response is greatly appreciated by their customers.

  


Page Top

• 主頁
  • 產品主頁
  • 服務及方案
  • 技術支援
  • 下載
  • 關於理光

新學制下聖公會林護紀念中學加強行政管理效率

三三四新學制推出後,校本評核將逐步全面實施,學校要把學生的成績、試卷及相關習作保存起來,無疑加重了學校教職員的工作負擔。聖公會林護紀念中學為簡化學校的行政工作和工序,近期採用了先進的文儀器材和應用方案,既簡化了過去繁複的工作,亦增加了老師和學校的行政效率。

有效管理學生檔案資料

在新學制的校本評核制度下,現時學校必須有效地管理學生的學習檔案資料,藉以推動全方位的教育發展。然而面對大量的學生資料,如何才可以有效地管理?聖公會林護紀念中學副校長麥卓生表示,要將每份試卷,以及每個學生,包括學業成績和功課等資料,以電子形式有系統地儲存,過去屬艱巨的工程。

「以往學校要把大量的學生資料妥善分類儲存,往往要花上很多時間和人力,當要翻查資料時,更需花好些時間才能搜尋得到。」不過,麥副校表示,現時採用了理光(Ricoh)多功能影印機的文件管理方案,把學生設定為個人的電腦條碼標籤 (Bar Code) ,無論是他們的成績、習作都一一儲存在個人檔案中,有助教職員日後能快捷地提取有關的資料,在掌握學生的成績及評估進度時更一目了然。

此外,過去學校以「Hard Copy」儲存學生資料,需佔用較大的地方,但現在如能將文件轉化為電子檔案,方便儲存之餘,也大大節省存放空間。

利用Text Recognizer 製作教材更方便

他續說,在數據擷取方面,文件格式轉換軟件Text Recognizer方案亦適合老師用來製作教材,「任教中、英文或通識科的老師,可以利用影印機將報紙內容掃描後轉化為可編輯的電子檔案 (如 Microsoft Word、Microsoft Excel或Adobe PDF),還能在結果中保持原文件的設計和格式,可幫助製作教材。」Text Recognizer能夠識別簡體、繁體中文和英文字體,將文件掃描後,系統便會自動轉換成各種可更改的電腦檔案。

多功能影印機省人力、增效率

科技先進,帶領文儀器材的發展更快,包括由黑白輸出轉為彩色,再發展為集合多種功能的機種,這一切的改變更有助學校和老師提升效率。麥副校表示,數年前開始使用高速多功能影印機作網絡打印後,在文件管理方面效率快了近一倍。

「以前印成績表起碼要花上兩日時間,現時只要一日已完成。如以影印及打印成本計算,現時黑白和彩色的影印成本較以往減省至少七成。」麥副校不諱言,以前彩色影印的成本價較貴,使用量方面有一定限制,但現時則更具效益,還可以協助師生打A3大小印海報或證書,十分方便。

此外,對經常需要影印的學生來說,在學校圖書館的一部理光影印機能提供八達通自助付款,學校亦以成本價為他們提供了影印服務。

以影印系統取代油印機 快捷簡便

除了多功能影印機,該校亦配備了兩部理光高速影印機,任教該校電腦科的鄭煥德老師表示,以往使用傳統油印機印試卷時,程序較繁複外,亦要較多人手配合。「現時的高速影印機則設有分頁和自動釘裝功能,對經常需要製作筆記的老師來說,十分適用,例如如一張A3紙,每面可影印兩張A4紙,再加上雙面影印的話,一次已影印了4版內容;更省卻了不少員工的釘裝時間,減少人為出錯的機會。」

服務以用家為本

現時該校共有6部多功能影印機,分別設在校務處、教員室及圖書館,取替了學校以往約20部噴墨和鐳射打印,省地方之餘,管理亦更統一。鄭老師舉例說,將要更換炭粉時,多功能打印機會有信息提示,學校只需要致電理光,一、兩天後便有職員前來更換,不用自行選購,亦不用額外地方貯存。其他服務如維修、查詢或投訴,都是致電同一個電話號碼便可,程序簡單。

「由於很多功能影印機內很多功能已經all-in-one,一旦機器出現故障,會帶來很多不便和影響工作,理光會為上門維修服務訂立『2小時服務回應承諾』,顧及用家的需要。」

現時理光於港、九、新界共有6個維修中心,技術員一般會在兩小時內抵達。

  


頁首